Thursday, May 9, 2019

Welcome to our new segment - Meet Our Community (members)!

Every other week we will feature a different community member. We hope it will give us a chance to meet each other in a more personal way. We thought there is no place to start like home, so we will begin by featuring the IAC DC team.

If you wish to participate in this section in the future, please write to us to [email protected] .

מה הביא אותך לארה"ב וכמה שנים את פה?

שמי דפנה והגעתי לארה"ב לפני כ-6 שנים בעקבות רילוקיישן של בעלי מהעבודה. 

איך את מגדירה את עצמך?

יהודיה, ישראלית, הולנדית ומבינה מעט בתרבות האמריקאית.

מה את עושה ביום יום?

אני מנהלת את תוכנית איתנים של ה-IAC באזור וושינגטון רבתי ואמא במשרה מלאה (פלוס פלוס).

ספרי לנו משהו שלא הרבה אנשים יודעים עליך

בצבא עשיתי קורס צניחה, שבסיומו הרוווחתי ביושר כנפי צניחה. בנוסף, עברתי הכשרה כמדריכת הורים ואני מדברת הולנדית שוטפת.

מה החלום שלך ברמה האישית/משפחתית/קהילתית?

החלום שלי ברמה האישית הוא לאהוב ולהנות מדברים גדולים כקטנים - החל מביצוע של פרוייקט בעבודה ועד לאושר מההצלחה של הילדים שלי בדברים הקטנים והיומיומיים. ברמה המשפחתית, אני מאחלת לעצמי שאדע לשמור על איזון נכון של כל אחד מבני המשפחה שלי כדי לשמור על אושרם ובריאותם, ההבנה שכולנו חלק משלם אחד. יחד זה כח ואין כמו כוחה של משפחה חזקה. אהבה ללא תנאי.

ברמה הקהילתית אני מאחלת לעצמי (ולכולנו) תחושת שייכות אישית לקהילה תומכת, השארת חותם חיובי על הסובבים אותי החל מחיוך של בוקר טוב ועד לתמיכה במי מהקהילה שצריך, זו רשת שיש לחזק ולתחזק כי כל אחד רוצה להרגיש שייך.

רוצים להכיר עוד חברי קהילה? עקבו אחרי הבלוג שלנו, אשר ימשיך להתעדכן!

מעוניינים להופיע כאן בפינה ולספר על עצמכם? נשמח לשמוע מכם! אנא כתבו מייל ל[email protected] 

Meet Daphna Sarlui, IAC DC Eitanim Manager.

What brought you to the USA and how long have you been here? I've arrived to the USA six years ago following my husband's relocation from work. 

I define myself as Jewish, Israeli and Dutch, who also understand and live the American culture. 

My day job is  the IAC DC Eitanim Manager and most importantly - I'm a full time mother for my three kids.  

Something that not a lot of people know about me is that during my military training at the IDF I graduated paratroopers course, and I'm a qualified paratrooper! I'm also certified as a parenting instructor, and speak Dutch fluently. 

What do you wish for? I wish for myself to be able to enjoy and treasure small momemnts as well as big, at all aspects of my life: professionaly and with my kids.  I hope that I'll be able to maintaine a balance between my family members and keep them healthy and happy. Together is a very powerful thing, and there is nothing stronger than a strong loving family. At the community level, I hope to feel that I personally belong to a supportive community, and leave my mark on the people around me - if by a smile or an act of kindness. 

Blog Category: